Posted on

October’s full Hunter’s Moon of 2021 rises tonight!

https://www.space.com/full-hunters-moon-2021-rises-tonight

The full moon arrives at 10:57 a.m. EDT (1457 GMT) on Wednesday (Oct. 20).

The Hunter’s Moon rises tonight, marking the first full moon of the fall season in the northern hemisphere.

October’s full moon will reach its peak at 10:57 a.m. EDT (1457 GMT) today (Oct. 20), though the moon will have appeared full since Monday night, and will remain big and bright in the night sky through Thursday.

The full moon will be visible during night hours to the casual skywatcher, weather permitting.

On the U.S. East Coast, the full Moon will rise at 6:26 p.m. EDT (2226 GMT), shortly after sunset.

The full moon will be accompanied by the planet Mercury, which will appear about 5 degrees above the eastern horizon, according to NASA’s viewing guide.